27.9 C
Tuesday, April 16, 2024

12 Women Win Seats in National Assembly, Defeating Strong Male Candidates


Lahore: In the 2024 elections, 12 women from 4 political parties have been elected as members of the National Assembly by defeating their strong male opponents.

Among them, 5 women are supported by PTI, 4 by PML-N, 2 by PPP, and 1 is affiliated with MQM.

Maryam Nawaz, along with 3 other women, including Aneeqa Bhatti, Aisha Jat, and Amber Niazi, will be sitting in the National Assembly for the first time.

According to the Election Commission’s results, Shandana Gulzar from Peshawar, Aneeqa Mahdi Bhatti from Hafizabad, Aisha Nazir Jat from Vehari, Amber Majid Niazi from Layyah, and Zartaj Gul from Dera Ghazi Khan have succeeded after tough competition. All five women are supported by PTI.

Women affiliated with PML-N, including Nausheen Iftikhar from Sialkot, Maryam Nawaz from Lahore, Shazra Mansab from Nankana Sahib, and Tahmina Daultana from Vehari, have reached the assembly after defeating opposing candidates.

In Sindh, three women have emerged victorious after the competition. Among them, Shazia Mari from the Pakistan People’s Party has succeeded from Sanghar, Nafeesa Shah from Khairpur, while Asiya Asad from MQM has achieved success in Karachi.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles